Skip to main content

Coronavirus Update: Countries Currently Restricting Travel from U.S. Citizens

By April 7, 2020March 29th, 2021COVID-19
Creative Commons photo by Wilerson S. Andrade - labeled for reuse.

The State Department has issued travel warnings for all Americans, recommending against international travel for the foreseeable future. Below is the current list of countries that have banned travel from foreigners. Please note that unless otherwise specified, these countries have not banned travel from its citizens and permanent residents. If a U.S. citizen has permanent residency or dual citizenship in any the following countries, travel is mostly still allowed. The information provided below is current at the time of posting but is subject to change. For current and detailed information, please consult the government website of the specific country.


  • Ghana: Have banned all foreign travels who have visited a country with at least 200 recorded cases of COVID-19 in the last 14 days.
  • Kenya: Banned all foreign travelers, only allowing entry from Kenyan citizens
  • Morocco: Suspended all flights to Algeria, Belgium, China, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain, as well as passenger ferry services. Still allowing foreign travelers
  • Namibia: Suspended inbound and outbound flights from Qatar, Ethiopia and Germany. Still allowing foreign travelers
  • South Africa: All foreign travelers who has visited a high-risk country in the past 20 days will be denied a visa. Still allowing foreign travelers


  • Argentina: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Bolivia: Banned flights to and from Europe. Still allowing foreign travelers
  • Canada: Have closed land border with United States. Allowing permanent residents and US citizens who commute daily for work to travel. Banned all foreign (non-U.S.) travelers except for airplane crews, diplomats, and immediate family members of Canadian citizens
  • Chile: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Colombia: Banned any foreign travels who have been to Europe or Asia within the past 14 days
  • Costa Rica: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Dominican Republic: Banned direct flights from Milan. Still allowing travel
  • Ecuador: Banned all foreign travelers
  • El Salvador: Banned all foreign travelers except for accredited diplomats
  • Guatemala: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Mexico: Closed border with United States to non-essential travel
  • Peru: Banned all foreign travelers. Also restricted domestic travel between provinces
  • Uruguay: Banned all flights from Europe. Still allowing foreign travelers
  • Venezuela: Banned all flights from Colombia and Europe. Still allowing foreign travelers


  • Cambodia: Suspended foreigners from the United States, France, Germany, Italy and Spain
  • China: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Hong Kong: Banned non-residents from entering
  • India: Banned tourist travels with exception of diplomatic, official, U.N. or International Organizations, employment and project visas
  • Japan: Banned travel from 26 countries in the world, including the United States and Canada
  • Malaysia: Banned all foreign travelers with very limited exceptions
  • Myanmar: Banned travelers from regions in China and South Korea. Travelers from Italy, Iran, France, Spain, Germany, other the other provinces in China and South Korea require a medical certificate to enter.
  • Nepal: Banned flights from China, all land ports are closed. On-arrival visas are no longer issued.
  • Philippines: Banned travel in and out of Manila. Still allowing foreign travelers
  • Singapore: Banned all short-term visitors
  • South Korea: Banned travel from citizens holding passports from Hubei province of China
  • Sri Lanka: Banned travel from Italy, Iran, South Korea, France, Germany, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Denmark, Netherlands, Austria, United Kingdom, Belgium and Norway.
  • Taiwan: Banned travelers who have visited China, Hong Kong, and Macau in the last 14 days
  • Thailand: Travelers from China, Korea, Hong Kong, Macau, Italy and Iran must present a health certificate confirming a negative Coronavirus test and show proof of insurance with coverage of at least $100,000
  • United Arab Emirates: All passenger flights have been suspended. All valid visa holders including people with valid resident visas have been suspended
  • Vietnam: All foreign travels from Europe’s Schengen Area and Britain have been banned

Australia and New Zealand

  • Australia Banned all foreign travelers
  • Banned all foreign travelers except for immediate families of citizens or permanent residents

Middle East

  • Israel: Banned foreign nationals from entering the country but will consider giving permit to enter for foreign nationals who can prove they have a place to self-isolate for 14 days
  • Jordan: All commercial flights have been banned, land and sea borders have also been closed
  • Lebanon: Suspended all flights to and from Italy, Iran, China, and South Korea
  • Saudi Arabia: All international flight has been suspended


  • Schengen Countries All 26 countries have closed their borders to foreigners
  • Austria: All foreign travels will have to present medical certificate clearing them of coronavirus
  • Croatia: All travels from the United States, Spain, and Sweden must be monitored
  • Czech Republic: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Denmark: Banned all foreign travelers
  • France: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Latvia: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Lithuania: Banned all foreign travelers
  • The Netherlands: Banned all flights from China, Hong Kong, Iran, Italy, and South Korea
  • North Macedonia: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Norway: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Poland: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Russia: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Serbia: Banned all foreign travelers. Ban including diplomats and legal residents
  • Spain: Banned all foreign travelers
  • Switzerland: Banned all foreign travelers from high risk countries and areas
  • Turkey: Banned all foreign travelers and suspended all flights
  • Ukraine: Banned all foreign travelers

You can find key immigration information related to the Corona Virus below.

FREE Visa Resources

Click on the buttons below in order to claim your free Visa Guide (E-1, E-2, TN, EB-5, H-1B, L-1, PERM, NIW, EB-1, O-1, E-3), sign up for our free Webinar, join our Facebook Group, or watch our videos.

Download FREE Visa Guide
Sign Up For Our Webinar
Join Our Facebook Group
Watch Our Videos

Set up a Visa or Green Card Consultation

For a dedicated one-on-one consultation with one of our lawyers, click on the button below to schedule your consultation.

Schedule a consultation

This website and blog constitutes attorney advertising. Do not consider anything in this website or blog legal advice and nothing in this website constitutes an attorney-client relationship being formed. Set up a one-hour consultation with us before acting on anything you read here. Past results are no guarantee of future results and prior results do not imply or predict future results. Each case is different and must be judged on its own merits.

Leave a Reply

Scott Legal, P.C. has Something For You
Thank you for connecting with us. We would be happy to assist you & send you free information on a number of topics including, Free Immigration Guides (E-1, E-2, L-1, H-1B, PERM, NIW, EB-1, O-1 & TN), Videos, Articles & Free Immigration Webinars.